What are legislative districts?

New Jersey is divided into 40 legislative districts. The people of each district elect one Senator and two General Assembly members. Each district has about the same number of people in it, so each legislator represents about the same number of people. New boundary lines for the districts are drawn every ten years after an official count or census has been taken of the people and where they live. The shapes of the districts may be changed to show changes in the population. City districts are usually small because more people live in small areas. Suburban and rural legislative districts may be very large, which shows that the people live farther apart.

Cartoon of Person Cutting New Jersey

Show All Answers

1. What is the Legislature?
2. What are Houses?
3. What is the difference between the Legislature and Congress?
4. Who can be a legislator?
5. What are legislative districts?
6. When does the Legislature meet?