What are Houses?

The New Jersey Legislature is divided into two bodies called Houses. The Houses of the New Jersey Legislature are the Senate and the General Assembly. There are 40 Senators and 80 General Assembly members, who are elected by the voters in their legislative districts. The members of the two Houses also are divided into political groups, called parties. The two major parties are Democrats and Republicans. The group having the largest number of members is called the majority party. The other group is the minority party.

Two Houses

Show All Answers

1. What is the Legislature?
2. What are Houses?
3. What is the difference between the Legislature and Congress?
4. Who can be a legislator?
5. What are legislative districts?
6. When does the Legislature meet?