Government Resources

New Jersey Constitution

Our State Constitution defines the structure and power of the three branches of government and documents every citizen’s basic rights. The three branches work together to protect these rights and fulfill the needs of the people.

Legislative Branch

The Legislative Branch of government is comprised of 120 elected representatives who are responsible for making new laws and changing old ones.

Executive Branch

The Executive Branch consists of the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, and State Agencies, charged with carrying out programs created by law.

Judicial Branch

The Judicial Branch is made up of the courts - all of which work to explain the law, settle disputes about the law, and determine penalties for not complying with the law.